News Filter
Topic Filters
Date Filter

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Chair Sara C. Bronin today announced the installation of three new ACHP members: Expert Member Erica Avrami; Tribal Member Amelia Marchand; and General Public Member Jane Woodfin. President Joe Biden appointed them to terms ending June 2028.


​​​​​Join ACHP Chair Sara C. Bronin in New York City at 9 a.m. Thursday, June 20, for a second Housing and Historic Preservation Roundtable, focused on how New York can implement policies to identify solutions to their housing needs using historic buildings.

The location of the roundtable is:

NYU School of Law
Furman Hall, Room 214

245 Sullivan St
New York, NY 10012


The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) will have its next business meeting on Thursday, July 18, 2024 at 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET. The meeting will take place in the Kennedy Caucus Room (Room 325) of the Russell Senate Office Building, 2 Constitution Ave. NE, Washington, DC 20002. The meeting is open to the public.  The meeting will be live streamed on Facebook and the recording will be made available following the proceedings on the ACHP's YouTube Channel


Call to Order 

Chair’s Welcome


The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) is now recruiting for a Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Liaison/Program Analyst within the ACHP’s Office of Federal Agency Programs (OFAP), located in Washington, DC. The OFAP plays a key role in meeting the ACHP’s mission to advise the President and Congress on historic preservation matters, and oversees the Section 106 review process.

On May 30, the Hawaii Star-Advertiser published a column in which Chair Sara Bronin explains why she believes Native Hawaiian Organizations should be exempt from certain federal review requirements.

Bronin writes, “Issuing a Section 106 exemption for projects like these would not only reduce barriers for NHOs; it would also recognize officially the vital role Indigenous Knowledge plays in preserving important Native Hawaiian cultural sites.”