The Departments of the Interior, Agriculture, Justice, Defense, Commerce, Education, Energy, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Labor, State, Transportation, Veterans Affairs and the Environmental Protection Agency, Council on Environmental Quality, Office of Personnel Management, and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation signed a new Tribal Treaty Rights MOU. The MOU provides that the 17 agencies will determine how they can best protect Tribal treaty rights in their policymaking and regulatory processes, and gives signatories 180 days to report back to the WHCNAA on their progress. The MOU replaces the signed in 2016.


Tribal Treaty Rights in the Section 106 Process is an information paper reminding federal agencies to consider potential tribal treaty rights as the Section 106 process is initiated.

Memorandum of Understanding Regarding Interagency Coordination and Collaboration for the Protection of Tribal Treaty Rights and Reserved Rights