Ossining, New York, (population 24,010) is situated on the east bank of the Hudson River, about 30 miles from New York City. The village of Ossining became the first incorporated village in Westchester County in April 1813. It was named after the Sint Sinck Native Americans; Sint Sinck meant “stone upon stone,” and referred to major marble deposits in the area. The name was changed to Ossining in 1901.
Ossining has a rich history of waterfront and shipping-related industries. The first newspaper in Westchester County was published here, and the Sing Sing Fire Department, established in 1812, was the county’s first organized volunteer fire department.
Today, Ossining is primarily a bedroom community for New York City, with a vast range of housing types and a diversified population. Many of its buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Ossining also contains two National Register Historic Districts, which are located in the downtown and Sparta neighborhoods.
The village is one of 15 New York State Heritage Areas, which includes the Old Croton Aqueduct, a masonry tunnel completed in 1842 that brought New York City its first supply of clean, plentiful water; and Historic Sing Sing Prison, which opened in 1828.
Ossining has a Cultural Park Visitor Center that presents life-size exhibits on Sing Sing and the aqueduct. The historic Jug Tavern, built in 1760, is located in Sparta, where historic walking tours are held monthly from April to November, and garden tours are offered every June. Ossining’s annual Village Fair is held in the Historic Downtown District.
Designated a Preserve America Community in July 2007.