Known as "The Oldest Town in Texas," Nacogdoches (population 29,914) is the seat of Nacogdoches County. The Spanish established a mission here in 1716 and designated the area as a town in 1779. In the 19th century, it was a focal point in the Texas struggle for independence and was the site of three failed attempts to establish a Republic of Texas.

One of the few buildings surviving from the early 19th century is the Durst-Taylor House, home to a number of prominent historical figures. The city is restoring the building and recently received assistance from a Save America's Treasures grant.

Other ongoing preservation projects include restoration of the Zion Hill Baptist Church (1914), which will be used as an African-American history museum, and rehabilitation of the Nacogdoches Train Depot.

Previous projects include streetscape improvements in the historic downtown and conversion of a former Federal building into a visitor center. Tourism is a vital part of the community's economy, and Nacogdoches participates in the heritage tourism initiatives of the Texas Historical Commission's Texas Forest Trail Region.

Designated a Preserve America Community in May 2004.

For more information

City of Nacogdoches

Nacogdoches Convention and Visitors Bureau

Nacogdoches Main Street

Texas Forest Trail Region