The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Experts Advisory Committee was convened in 2023 by Chair Sara C. Bronin to provide the ACHP with academic and legal perspectives that will enhance the ACHP’s understanding of research impacting preservation, development of a historic preservation research agenda, and contribution to data-driven policy solutions. 

Co-chairing the committee with Bronin is Erica Avrami, Ph.D., the James Marston Fitch Assistant Professor of Historic Preservation at Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation. 

View the Press Release

The inaugural members of the committee include the following:   

Fallon Aidoo 

Fallon Aidoo, Ph.D., Tulane University School of Architecture          

Leila Amineddoleh

Leila Amineddoleh, Esq., Amineddoleh & Associates LLC

Erica Avrami
Erica Avrami, Ph.D., Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation (Co-Chair)

William Dupont
William A. Dupont, FAIA, The University of Texas San Antonio

Charles Galbraith
Charles Galbraith, Esq., Jenner & Block LLP

Tad Heuer
Tad Heuer, Esq., Foley Hoag LLP

Merrill Hoopengardner
Merrill Hoopengardner, Esq.

Michelle Magalong
Michelle Magalong, Ph.D., University of Maryland School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation

Jennifer Minner
Jennifer Minner, Ph.D., Cornell University College of Architecture, Art & Planning

Andrew Potts
Andrew Potts, Esq., International Council on Monuments and Sites

Raymond Rast
Raymond Rast, Ph.D., Gonzaga University, Department of History

Andrea Roberts
Andrea Roberts, Ph.D., University of Virginia, School of Architecture

This committee will not substitute for the ACHP’s statutory and trust obligations to consult with Indian tribes, be asked to opine upon or otherwise offer Indigenous Knowledge or local knowledge, or address current or pending Section 106 reviews. It meets periodically, and its members serve as uncompensated volunteers.  Affiliations are listed for identification purposes only, and committee members serve in their individual capacities and not as representatives of the listed institutions.