skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews arrowJFebruary 26, 2013

Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar to Confer Historic Preservation Awards at ACHP Winter Business Meeting

WHAT: The March 1, 2013, meeting of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) will feature the presentation of the Secretary of the Interior’s 2012 Historic Preservation Awards and the participation of  new ACHP members.

WHO: ACHP Chairman Milford Wayne Donaldson, FAIA, and Vice Chairman Clement Price, Ph.D. will preside over the meeting.
Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar will preside over the presentation of the Awards.

Award Recipients:
Robin D. Hawks, Ph.D., Federal Preservation Officer, Bureau of Land Management
Dan Elswick, South Carolina State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO)
Bill Helmer, Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (THPO), The Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley, California
Michelle L. Pierce, Certified Local Government (CLG), Lake City, Colorado

New ACHP Members:
Lynne Sebastian, Ph.D., Albuquerque, New Mexico (Expert Member)
Teresa Isabel Leger, Santa Fe, New Mexico (Citizen Member)
Elizabeth Hughes, President, National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers (NCSHPO) and Deputy SHPO of Maryland

WHEN: 8:30 a.m., March 1, 2013. The meeting is open. Media and the public are welcome. The meeting should conclude about 12 p.m. (noon).

WHERE: The Kennedy Caucus Room, Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C.

About the ACHP: An independent federal agency, the ACHP promotes the economic, educational, environmental, sustainability, and cultural values of historic preservation and advises the President and the Congress on national historic preservation policy. It also influences federal activities, programs, and policies that affect historic and cultural properties. See for more information.

Return to Top