skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrow Historic Preservation Programs & Officers arrow Federal arrow U.S. Forest Service
U.S. Forest Service
Historic Preservation Program

Federal Preservation Officer
Cultural Resource Management: Policy and Regulations
Section 106 Notes
Agency and Related Links

Federal Preservation Officer

Michael J. Kaczor
Federal Preservation Officer
Heritage Program Leader
USDA Forest Service
201 14th St., SW
Washington, DC 20250

Mailing address:
USDA Forest Service
Recreation & Heritage Resources
Mail Stop 1125
201 14th. St., SW
Washington, DC 20250-1124

Telephone: (202) 205-1427
Fax: (202) 205-1145

Cultural Resource Management: Policy and Regulations

National Forest Management Act (NFMA; 36CFR219)

Forest Service regulations are found at 36 CFR Part 200, with specific reference to Heritage planning in 219.24, land use prohibitions relating to heritage in 261.2, and the Archeological Resources Protection Act (ARPA) in Section 296. Internal direction is provided in the Forest Service Manual, Chapter 2360.

The Forest Service's Passport in Time (PIT) Program provides opportunities for public involvement in archelogical projects on National Forests. Jill Osborn is the program leader and contact for the Forest Service for the PIT program. Carol Ellick is the PIT coordinator for contracted clearinghouse work.

Jill Osborn
PIT National Coordinator
USDA Forest Service
1249 S. Vinnell Way
Boise, ID 83709
Phone: (208) 373-4162

Carol Ellick
Program Manager
SRI Foundation
333 Rio Rancho Dr., NE, #103
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
Phone: (505) 892-5587
Fax: (505) 896-1136

Section 106 Notes

Read ACHP's formal comments on the proposed Telephone Flat geothermal project in California

ACHP has entered into programmatic agreements with the Forest Service for the Management of Forest Service Heritage Resources for the following States and Regions:

  • Region 1: Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, and South Dakota
  • Region 3: Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Region 5: Pacific Southwest Region: California
  • Region 6: Oregon and Washington
  • Region 8: Southern Region: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Alaska Region

Agency and Related Links

U.S. Forest Service Web site:

Passport in Time program:

Partnership Resource Center (produced by the U.S. Forest Service and hosted by the National Forest Foundation to promote partnerships between the Forest Service, other agencies, and private organizations for
managing public lands):

Updated June 8, 2004

Return to Top