skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP

ACHP News

National Historic
Preservation
Program


Working with
Section 106


Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education

Publications

Search
 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews arrowJune 3, 2013

ACHP OFFERS BRIEFINGS TO SHPOs/THPOs/NHOs ON NEPA-NHPA HANDBOOK

The ACHP has invited representatives of State and Tribal Historic Preservation Officers (SHPOs and THPOs), Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations to participate in briefings about NEPA and NHPA: A Handbook for Integrating NEPA and Section 106, published jointly by the ACHP and the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) in March 2013.

The Handbook provides long awaited advice on implementing certain sections of the Section 106 regulations, especially the provisions of 36 CFR 800.8. It is important that those who consult with federal agencies in their Section 106 reviews understand the benefits of aligning these two processes and the integration principles described in the Handbook. The briefings will discuss the content of the Handbook, highlight key messages for federal agencies and other participants in the Section 106 review process, and solicit input on additional training needs regarding the application of the Handbook. The 90-minute briefings will be presented to SHPOs on:

Thursday, June 13, 2013, at 2 pm Eastern/1 pm Central/Noon Mountain/11 am Pacific/10 am Alaska/8 am Hawaii and Wednesday, June 19, 2013, at 4 pm Eastern/3 pm Central/ 2 pm Mountain/1 pm Pacific/Noon Alaska/10 am Hawaii.

An additional briefing for THPOs, Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations is scheduled for Wednesday, June 26, 2013, at 2 pm Eastern/1 pm Central/Noon Mountain/11 am Pacific/10 am Alaska/8 am Hawaii

Persons interested in participating should send an e-mail to Katry Harris at kharris@achp.gov and include your name, SHPO/THPO/Indian tribe/Native Hawaiian organization you represent, phone and e-mail contact information, and the date/time of the briefing in which you wish to participate. You may also call Katry at (202) 606-8520 if you have any questions.

The ACHP is also developing an online/on-demand course to explain in further detail the Handbook’s principles in real-world terms, share best practices and lessons learned, and teach from case studies. The course will utilize the ACHP’s rapid e-learning software to incorporate graphics, sound, and self-assessment quizzes and exercises. We hope all participants in the Section 106 process will benefit from the online course that we expect to be available in the months to come. Stay tuned for more information.

 

Return to Top